Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2005-09-23 - 9:24 a.m.

...fashion crisis....

Today I am leaving for the Cape, to go to my second ever gay wedding. These guys are two of my favorite people - I met Mitch for the first time in Sweden when I was dreadfully homesick for the USA. He cheered me up immensely when we reminisced endlessly over Wurlitzer organs, skating rinks, and Bugs Bunny cartoons (much to the chagrin of the Europeans, who thought we were insane). Anyway the instant bonding from eight years ago is refreshed every time I see him at meetings.

And I finally meet his partner Daren in Nice a few years back. He's brilliant. Anyway, I'm not normally a fan of weddings, but I am certain that NO one at this 'ding will be asking me why I'm not married and when it will be "my turn," so I'm quite pleased to go. (Plus Mitch and Daren throw the best parties...).

But the invitation warned of a "steep descent" from the parking lot down to the garden, and that we should wear appropriate shoes...hiking boots? And that the dress for the 'ding is "casually elegant." What is casually elegant? I'm bringing three outfits:
1) purple tiedye poets blouse with pink mini.
2) green cotton sundress with a gecko-print and a brown urban cargo jacket (that might just go with the hiking boots)
3) a maroon sleeveless sundress and a navy DKNY jacket that is classier, but looks terrible with the hiking boots.

I'm not so good with casually elegant. I tend to wind up looking casually frumpy.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!