Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2005-10-08 - 10:29 a.m.

..proposal finished!...

Yesterday evening I finished a proposal and promptly drank half a bottle of crianza in mild celebration (and predictably woke up with a head slightly off-kilter..). But oh! the joy of SLEEPING IN! Especially on the first rainy autumn day. No need to go out into the streets, just the white noise of water on pavement, candles to break the grey while I enjoy a hot coffee. I am so happy to be rid of this proposal (and to move on to the next one...)

And I must clean. This house is becoming a gigantic dust bunny.

When I last left this missive, I was heading to a gay wedding on the Cape (that was two weeks ago!). It was a splendid, and made me realize that I want to have a gay wedding. It was heartwarming to watch Mitch and Darin walk down to the side of the lake holding hands, and looking so dapper in their brightly-colored waistcoats. Setting: exceptional. Food - FABULOUS. Champagne - WOW. Music - instead of the chicken dance? We did the YMCA dance...None of the men hit on the single women, and no one asks..so when are YOU finally getting married? But better still was that everyone was so lovable.

I couldn't help noting the irony. The law wants to keep them from being able to marry. Yet it is forcing me to.

Alas, I returned to the standard beat here and haven't looked up since. I leave for Seattle on Monday afternoon to give a talk. I shortened the trip to only two days, as I had originally planned to take the whole week to knock about Vancouver with my buddy Andy. I will still have all day Tuesday to wander about town, and to have a day off. (and I will probably have to spend a good chunk of the day preparing the talk, actually...)

Okay, off to start cleaning this horrid mess of a house.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!