Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2005-12-05 - 4:43 p.m.

a week of teaching...

This week I have taken on my colleague's teaching schedule, in addition to mine. I am teaching 8 classes this week, beginning at 8am on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday! This morning when the alarm went off at 5:30am, I deeply regretted my 'helpful colleague' policy, and quickly decided that 'helpful colleagues' are more aptly described as 'masochists.' OY.

Oh well, the students seemed okay about it. Some even said that my class was the first time they hadn't fallen asleep in geology...

To make matters more interesting, at 5:45 I was startled by a resounding, "WHAM!!! scuddle scuddle scuddle scuddle..." and then watched TWO blurry balls of fur go racing from the back room into dark hiding places in the front room. I turned on the light to discover an overturned vase of flowers - and the beautiful blue vase (purchased at a pottery markt in Weimar) was destroyed. :-(. Oh well. I enjoyed that vase for several years and used it for many things. (I just wish that they had destroyed the OTHER vase which was a gift from my former boss Attila). Still, it might be possible to convert it to a planter or something.

And now it's on to an evening of work before another day of lectures tomorrow. I understand that we are expecting as much as six inches of snow by tomorrow morning! I love snow...

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!