Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2006-01-24 - 5:58 p.m.

...I'd like to buy an 'M' please...

Yesterday was one of those days when things broke.

The DVD player broke.

My DVD/ROM wasn't working either.

The zipper on my kick-ass knee-high boots split.

Weirdest of all, Mizzy managed to pop the letter 'M' off my laptop keyboard. She was lying and stretching in front of me, trying her darnedest to get my attention. She stretched herself over the mouse, the article I was attempting to read, and the keyboard, simultaneously. And then she tucked her right claw under the M key and shot that sucker straight up a whole two feet in the air.

My cat is nothing if not talented in letters...

After 20 minutes of fussing, I managed to return the key to its proper place, but with only one of the two springs. As a result the letter 'M' feels like a teeny tiny seasaw underneath my right index finger everytime I type it.

Of greater concern was the DVD player. Everyone with whom I've spoken has told me that the laser alignment is probably shot, it will cost more to fix it than to buy a new one, and so I should just dump it. This goes completely against my grain - and my principles of keeping my shit out of landfills. There has to be a way to recycle this thing (at a minimum I could mail it to dr. geek...who probably wouldn't look upon the donation fondly..but at least sympathizes with this dilemma, I suppose)..(if you're out there dr. g., don't worry. I keep my dead electronics to myself.)

So what are my options? First I'll search for a way to either fix or recycle the darned thing. Shouldn't there be an internet company out there that accepts all of these old electronics and sells them to needy people?? (Oh yeah, we call that eBay). If that fails, I guess my next best option is to try to locate a replacement that (a) is smaller and less wasteful in size, and (b) has a chance of lasting longer than 18 months...

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!