Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2006-02-01 - 11:15 a.m.

..visa news...

Yesterday K called me to wake me up at about 8:30am. The embassy called. The "Ambassador" has approved the visa, and it should arrive in the mail in the next ten days. I didn't write about it yesterday. I didn't tell anyone about it, either.

I think that I'm still afraid that it's not true, or rather I recognize that it is merely a step in the process. K still has to GET the visa in the mail (and the embassy has proven itself to be postally challenged...). And then K has to organize himself to move. In other words, this opens us to a new set of interpersonal "issues." I want him here ASAP, but I recognize that this desire of mine is essentially wrenching him out of a life in which he's been imbedded for ten years...He's known it's been coming, but he's not exactly the "plan ahead" kind of person. And knowing that something big is coming is rather different than facing its arrival.

Who knows, he might kick into action like I've never seen before, and be here within the month.. But...well, I doubt it. So it is another step on the ladder. So I might actually be married in March, and I'm just finally getting used to calling him my fiance instead of my partner.

It's funny because I never imagine all of the things in between: his move, his arrival, the ceremony, the move, etc. My picture of the future skips over these details, straight to the parts where I have my friend with me to share both the fun and mundane - where once again we wake up together, we walk through the City, we take a train on holiday, we run errands, we work on our computers, we clean the flat.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!