Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2006-03-30 - 5:10 a.m.

...awake...

It's five in the blessed am, and I've been awake since 2:15am. It happens occasionally (once or twice per year?) that I manage to get myself completely worked up about things while lying in bed. This night, I tried to lie completely still, breathe deeply, and cuddle Lyra very close, while not disturbing K's sleep. By about 4am I finally gave up and left the bed, resigned to the fact that I would not be able to sleep.

I truly have way too many things to do at the moment; in a sense I am resigned to the fact that I will not finish everything in time. I have been working on a lecture since 4am - one that I will have to give tomorrow morning. I've gotten about ten slides into it, which I guess is a start.

Yesterday morning K and I drove to Connecticut to get registered. We are now licensed to marry - HA! K took a huge load off my shoulders by taking on the job of finding a Justice of the Peace for us. He happened to find a tremendously friendly (and inexpensive) woman with a house at the beach. So, we will probably get married on a beach. I don't think he anticipated how thrilled I would be that he did this. After we registered, we spent an hour or so wandering around the cute little colonial town, and even stopped for a coffee. It was nice to be away from the bustle of NYC, even though I knew that we were in the land of rich housewives. Each street was lined with expensive and superfluous suburban utility vehicles, each holding a 30-40-something manicured woman with a well-groomed ponytail and a gucci bag, sporting Oakley sunglasses, a tailored gym suit with a pink stripe down the side, and Prada shoes. It was a happy blend of Stepford and Desperate... But it was a cute town nevertheless - clean, and friendly.

My best friend arrives from England this evening, and I have already put myself on her schedule, it seems. I think that I'll sign off for now.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!