Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2006-06-03 - 9:12 p.m.

..don't drink and diaryland...

I did something I haven't done in a really really long time. When K suggested that we have gin-tonics, I made myself a margarita. And then a second. I make a totally kick-ass margarita, and the outsides of my cheeks feel fuzzy. woo hoo.

This afternoon, after the second inch of rain had fallen, I decided that it was time to get OUT of the house and go shopping. I rarely NEED clothing. But after counting >10 little holes in my little pink night shirt with the little red cat on it (it was a gift), I think that it's time to move on.

So we got out of the house, but never made it to a local pajama vendor. (yes, it is beyond me what a local pajama vendor would be) Instead I wound up investing in a new summer wardrobe - not such a bad thing as several items of my professorial clothing have been worn down to mere threads. So I bought oogabs of clothing. But no pajamas. alas. foresooth.

By the time I was finished trying on everything in the store, K was reaching a serious low blood sugar moment, so we walked down the road to a Mexican place (a reward for K, who waited patiently while I tried on everything in the store). It turned out to be a Mexican place run entirely by Chinese people. In fact, the menus looked exactly like the menus from a Chinese takeout place. The lady behind the counter spoke more Chinese than English with her customers. I had a cheese enchilada over chinese rice with a little duck sauce packet of chili sauce. It was a truly bizarre, Queens experience.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!