Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2006-08-15 - 9:27 a.m.

..getting started...

Yesterday I had my first day of reporting to work. It was a mixed bag, but in general I think that it went well.

Good things:
I've gotten my ID, a paycheck, submitted a key request, and discovered that I have an additional, significant pot of money coming my way.

Bad things:
My temporary office is tiny, with no furniture (not even a phone). It is placed right out in the hallway, and has been nicknamed the "fishbowl." Everyone has a key to it.

Anyway, just in general it is difficult to prioritize all that needs to be done, because there is so much that needs to happen very soon. and it seems that everytime I talk to someone, there is another set of tasks that need completion.

Once I move all of my boxes into my office at work (and therefore render myself unable to walk around in it), I plan to tape up several fish to the glass. And label it the Canada Research Fishbowl.

So, things are the same everywhere. It is tough to get started.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!