Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2006-09-30 - 10:38 a.m.

...under the weather...

Today is Blighty's birthday. HAPPY BIRTHDAY BLIGHTY!

ahem. Now back to Vancouver. But not for long, because I will be flying to the yUK tomorrow, coincidentally, to stay with Blighty and her clan for a week before blasting off to Norwich for some serious sciencing.

I've developed a pattern of staying very late at the office on Friday night, most likely to finish up all the things that I said I wanted to finish by the end of the week. Last night was no exception, and I wasn't home until after 10:30pm. I had to finish packing up my office (AGAIN) because the move to my new permanent office will occur in my absence. I also had promised myself that I would have the first draft of my proposal written before leaving. It hasn't happened, but it is close.

In the meantime, the rains have come again, although you wouldn't have necessarily expected it from checking standard weather forecasts. Last time, the forecast said 20% chance of precipitation. It rained for 3 days. This time, it said "partly cloudy" and we woke up to what is more aptly described as "rain." This foils our attempts at drying the laundry outside a bit...but we are learning. Unfortunately, we also woke with sinus headaches that come with rapid pressure changes. Alas.

One thing we've learned is to forget about all international weather forecasts - apparently they stop looking at the satellite when they get to Seattle. The Canadian government forecast seems a bit closer to the mark with "drizzle." Too bad F-fox doesn't have a cool plug-in that works with Canadian government weather websites.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!