Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2007-01-17 - 8:18 a.m.

..just a day in the life...

It's morning again, and I think that I've recovered from the sleep deprivation of Monday, which is good. In fact, I awoke feeling rather alive and alert this morning, although a bit uninterested in work.

My class this year is becoming rather interesting, and I am getting some great ideas about how to improve it next year. Yesterday's guest gave a presentation on how landslides are dealt with by municipalities in BC: how to predict them, prevent them, and protect people, but also about the costs and how to deal with the political side of the issue. I am learning at least as much as the students on this.

It's made me think of new hazards that one has to consider when buying a house in this part of the world - earthquakes, landslides, and definitely waterproofing. Issues I'd never really given thought to before. Last night I dreamed that K and I found our dream apartment - and it was selling for 1.52 million dollars. So we decided to move upstairs to the slightly smaller place that was selling for only 892,000. (sadly, these numbers are not that far off for the Vancouver market.)

I will start to wake K up in a few minutes so that we can go for Wednesday's run. Today is miraculous in that there are no weather warnings in the BC forecast. hmm. Hoping that also means that my butt won't be freezing off.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!