Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2007-02-28 - 10:30 a.m.

...when it rains, it pours...but in a good way....

My theory about the hell that is February continues. You may notice that today is the 28th - the day that marks the END of this treacherous month. It is also the day of a wonderful windfall. Yesterday a grants facilitator happened passed my door and asked me if I could use $150k to fill my lab with equipment...duh?

It is an end-of-fiscal-year loan until my start-up funds come through. The only catch is that I need to be sure that the $$ are spent before the end of March. So today I am lurching around, trying to spend as much money as possible in a 24 hour period. I like days like today.

I spoke to my parents about this...and they advised me that I should ALWAYS have a series of plans floating around in my head, ones that are ready and waiting for these types of fiscal crises. A 10k plan, a 25k plan, a 50k plan, and a 150k plan. Have these plans coordinated in such a way that you are ALWAYS ready to spend $$.

I feel like I'm in that game show on television where you race through the showroom with a shopping cart, grabbing things off of shelves as fast as you can before the buzzer goes off. Only in my case, I'm grabbing spectrophotometers, microbalances, microscopes, and beakers. Coolio.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!