Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2007-04-13 - 7:07 p.m.

..and just exactly where HAVE I been?...

The week has been full of excitement, boys and girls.

-- My grant proposal got funded (of course, so did 70% of the applications, so I guess it was kind of a given...)

-- My long-lost boxes of samples were found, of course, just after I had finished reprocessing 70% of them.

-- I submitted grades for my course, and today was the last official meeting for a second one.

-- I put together funding packages for both of my incoming students and have become woefully aware how hard it is to support your students on Canadian grants.

-- I met with one of my incoming students, and he and I started on a course for designing his new project.

-- I set up appointments with a tax consultant for tomorrow, and figured out WHY my tax software suddenly says that I am not allowed to put money into retirement.

-- I figured out how to get K a tax number in the USA.

-- I planted about 65% of our container garden on the back porch and have spent the rest of the week watching the rain pummel it.

-- I assembled more toys in the lab.

-- I started cleaning my office, and packing it up AGAIN so that I can move BACK to my department's building.

what else what else what else...

-- I went to the students' year-end party and play the role of Professor Fish-Out-Of-Water (I smiled and chatted, stood in the corner a lot, and then left early. But hey, shouldn't profs show support when they are invited?)

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!