Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2007-05-08 - 3:39 p.m.

...my big toe has bad vibes...

Today some more progress was made. Little bits are moving forward in the lab, and I am very very close to getting the last of the quotes I need to secure my grant. And I spent an afternoon reading up on various analyzers, so that I could speak intelligently about frontal chromatography. (which for some reason still reminds me of full frontal nudity. And makes K think of frontal lobotomy. Oh well. So much for speaking intelligently about chemistry.) But today I actually showed my student some of the microfossils she's prepared, in the microscope. She was psyched. It finally feels like she is getting things done.

**

While I was at Whistler I treated myself to a full 1-hour massage with an extra 15 minutes dedicated solely to my feet. It was wonderful. I was mellow for the rest of the day (until I got hungry). My masseuse told me that I've got "good vibes." Hey, can't beat that.

Well, she also told me that my shoulders are exceedingly tight, and in fact she cut the 15-minute foot love short so she could focus more on my bound up muscle fibers. Apparently when you get stressed enough your muscle fibers can bind themselves together. There were actual cracking sounds (and feelings) as she worked on certain tight spots. Oy.

Well, it was a great experience, but in coming away, I've now found some places haven't stopped hurting since the massage, specifically the ball of my right big toe and the center of my left hand. I am not certain if this is somehow related to the massage, or to the fact that I was hauling lots of luggage around (the hand) and using the vacation to do some extra running and hiking (the big toe). Nevertheless, saying that "my toe hurts" doesn't exactly inspire great sympathy. It just isn't a glorious injury, even if it hurts like the dickens, you know?

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!