Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2007-08-01 - 4:13 p.m.

..money can be exchanged for goods and services....

The truly devout will recognize this entry title as a Homerism. Yes, a quote from Homer Simpson's brain, when it is trying to convince his hand to pick up the ten-dollar bill instead of the peanut at the bottom of the sewer grate. Because, indeed, ten dollars can be used to buy LOTS of peanuts. (in the end, I think the peanut wins.)

Okay, so I'm not choosing between a peanut and ten dollars. But I am finally experiencing the serene satisfaction of paying people to work for me, and actually seeing the work get accomplished. I think that this group is going to get a lot accomplished this summer.

Meanwhile, I am blissfully plugging through meteorological data at a slow and steady rate, and discovering some pretty exciting new things about the climate of North America fifty years ago. I'll be putting the discovery past my colleague when she gets back from holiday next week to make sure that I'm not making some huge mistake somewhere...but I think that this result really may be worth a quick publication. I'm quite excited.

And now since it is fireworks day in Vancouver - and therefore the skytrain is going to be packed with partying individuals - it's probably time for me to close up shop and go home. Nice idea, given that I'm exhausted already today...

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!