Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2007-08-04 - 10:46 a.m.

....another pleasant grandview Saturday here in British Cannabis...

I'm awake now. I've returned to the world of the living. Almost. I've just fed the kitties. Lyra was terribly excited about the concept of breakfast, until a fly came in through the back door. Now she is pouncing it down throughout the house, and Mizzy is eating both breakfasts.

Today I've finally sworn to put a few hours in on the back porch garden. Certain plants have finally recovered from my three-week absence. Some plants came back completely from the dead (plants are amazing when they do that). But some just aren't doin' it - the sweet peas, for example. They are mostly brown and looking rather pathetic. I guess some things just weren't meant to grow in a pot on a balcony in Vancouver weather. So they will be replaced with K's favorites - some sort of traditional German red balcony flower.

The dill is looking questionable, too. brown and woody and ugly. wonder what herb will go in there - cilantro, maybe? we'll see what we can find. I'm about to create a field of basil, and I need another new pot for more tomatoes. yes, MORE tomatoes. Boy have I learned a tomato plant lesson - it is not a good idea to plant more than two tomato plants in one pot, even if the pot is huge. I've created something out of little shop of horrors on the top balcony. It's gruesome to watch them compete with each other.

Any other news? Hmph. Well, I still haven't read (or purchased) the last Harry Potter book. But I guess since that hasn't happened, it isn't really news.

Since it's the weekend (and a long weekend no less) I've decided to put a moratorium on admin discussions. Not a moratorium on work, unfortunately, but that's okay. I'd like to go to a park and read a book today. I think I'll see if I can coax K out of the chair, at least down to the plant store for more supplies.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!