Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2007-09-26 - 7:24 a.m.

...bogged down...

Ugh, another uncomfortable night of sleeping - I think it may be related to being poked a lot yesterday (after which I was rather sore).

My talk went okay. There was one guy who asked questions somewhat aggressively, in a manner that I couldn't understand, and then wouldn't let go even when I said that I didn't understand, or would have to find the answer later. There were a few other difficult questions but I think that they were handled pretty well. Mostly I am getting the nagging feeling that it is time to talk about something new.

I was more interested in meeting the woman who hosted me. She turned out to be a close friend of a mutual friend, and in addition to being a fabulous scientist, had some great tips for how I should proceed. She is also a CRC (although apparently dealing with fewer issues than I have encountered up at Mountain). However, she had some great tips on how I may be able to secure multiple thousands of dollars that otherwise might be absorbed by the university. More paperwork and fighting, it seems.

But on a more positive note, one of the first students that I supervised just finished his Ph.D. (not with me) and was considered one of the top in his department. He's just moved on to a postdoc position in the USA. I'm very happy for him - glad to see one of the good guys succeed.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!