Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2007-11-07 - 5:27 p.m.

...ugh....

It's 5:30pm, I'm still at work, I still have to write two lectures for this week, I had to skip yoga, I've spent a lot of today in meetings, and when I wasn't in meetings I was on the phone translating information between our electricians and the engineers who are coming on Monday to install a piece of equipment. Make that Tuesday.

It shouldn't come as a surprise that the work order I submitted on the 10th of September to upgrade electrical sockets in my lab still haven't been finished. In fact, they hired a contractor to do it, but they never followed his progress - he did it all incorrectly. But in spite of my efforts to get information from this department since mid-October, I've heard nil - until Monday - ONE WEEK BEFORE THE INSTALLATION - when they told me it was done improperly.

And then today - three work days before the installation - I was told that they couldn't fix the error until I put in ANOTHER work order. There is one poor electrician at this university - Remember BUTTLE? - who is trying terribly hard to help me. And I'm going out of my wits with the rest of them.

I'm having contractions. I don't think that this is such a big deal, ever since I spoke to my mother and she told me that she had them for the entire last two months of her pregnancy. But it's a wee bit uncomfortable and a very odd feeling. They are not regular or particularly painful - just the braxton hicks variety. Makes me think that perhaps I'm having a bit of a stressful day...

Do I have any good news for today? err, well, not really. I think maybe I really should go home, climb into bed, and read..

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!