Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2007-11-18 - 8:18 p.m.

...a happy shower, a baking bread, and "we shall overcome" ....

Home from the baby shower, which was just wonderful. I did kind of sit in a corner and watch from afar...but then again, every time I tried to get up, people said, "no no no! don't get up!" (I must really look big now...)

I still feel rather awkward about accepting presents from people...but it was really quite fun to have people throwing a party for me. We very thankfully avoided all of the goofy baby shower games (no tummy touching. no hats. no blind baby-food tasting tests...thank you.). But we had a great time.

And now this evening I am baking up a pumpkin bread for tomorrow's shower at work. While baking I felt the urge to listen to one of my really old Pete S33ger CDs - the classic recording of his Carnegie Hall concert from 1963. I remember getting the CD back in the mid-1990's from my then partner. Somehow the music that felt somewhat 'dated' to me then has me all misty and aching for change now.

Now, somehow I am more impressed to listen to a 2-3 hour concert in Carnegie Hall, sung entirely by a man with just a guitar, a banjo, and a somewhat wiry voice. And yet he could motivate the whole hall of New Yorkers to sing, "We shall overcome." Would such a concert sell out these days? Or would it even be possible? Do we have such iconic social and musical leaders today? Who are the Tom Paxtons, Pete Seegers, and Howard Zinns of today? It's a question that I will try to answer for myself over the next few days.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!