Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2007-12-11 - 6:50 p.m.

..the date is set...

So I got a skype message from my mother today telling me that she and her partner of many years (my stepfather, basically) have decided to get married - on the 2nd day of 2008. She actually sounded kind of nervous to tell me this on the phone, and she thought that I sounded a bit stunned and as if I didn't know what to say. (Actually, when she said that she had an announcement I already knew what the news was going to be...and truthfully *I* was a bit nervous because the topics of weddings always makes me think back to our own experience, and how much I think that I disappointed her...thus the source of awkwardness.)

So I immediately called K into the room and told him the news at which point he took over with a boisterous and enthusiastic "CONGRATULATIONS! THAT'S WONDERFUL!" (always count on K to say the right thing in the right way).

I asked if they are excited. And if they were bringing any guests with them (some close friends, and perhaps my aunt and uncle as well). They were debating whether or not to include my niece - as in, is a 7-yr-old ready to handle grandmother and grandfather's wedding? Brings up all those issues about testing a child's preconceived notions of how the world works. (I'm all for blowing holes in those preconceived notions...but of course she's not my child).

So not surprisingly, both my brother and I made the same joke..."are you planning to have children?" bahaha ha ha.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!