Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2007-12-13 - 5:44 p.m.

...snow day...

I took a snow day today. Well, actually, my body just declared that sleep was essential. I thought perhaps it might be a response to the flu shot that I had yesterday afternoon. Mom thinks that it may be a result of being very pregnant. Either that or the after-effects of massive grading. Whatever.

I had all good intentions of hauling ass up the mountain, until the big white flakes started falling down here in the city. Consider the mountain is 1 km above us. If there are snowflakes in the city and the temperature is ~2-3C, and the moist adiabatic lapse rate is about -5 deg C/km....okay, okay I'm geekin' up here. But my point is, it's colder, wetter, icier, and snowier up on the Mountain.

So I took a nap instead. And when I woke up an hour later, I discovered that, indeed, the buses had stopped going up the mountain, and that people were being encouraged to go home early. I inadvertently took a snow day, and so I took another nap.

And then did some more grading. Yes, I know that I already turned in the grades. But I hadn't finished putting comments on all of the papers yet. I still believe that a grade is down-right useless without feedback. So I've been diligently reading and circling, getting annoyed by the excessive use of run-on sentences, misspellings, jargon, and the rampant abuse of passive voice and undefined pronouns. Well, there have been some positive moments, too. (The last paper I read was blissfully clear and concise.)

Anyway, I am so close to being finished. Two more to go. Thirsty. Kind of want a banana vanilla yogurt milkshake. Think I'll have water instead.

K is making dinner. I think I'll go shower him with kisses of gratitude now that he is holding a very sharp knife..

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!