Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2007-12-18 - 5:14 p.m.

...this Christmas: give the gift of pay equity....

I received an interesting email from my friend and colleague who is the new chair of my old department at Dutchess. She put together a graph that very nicely illustrated that the female faculty hires have consistently been hired at 2 hiring steps below the male faculty hires over the last decade. Postdoc experience had NOTHING to do with it. The men simply gave other men more money (and easier teaching, I might add...). It was fascinating to work at an institution that was so blatant about its sexism.

Anyway, the new chair took this rather convincing little graphic to department executive committee, the dean, and then the provost, and automatically secured a 2-step raise for all of the women faculty in the department, bringing them in line with the male faculty. Had I still been there, I would have gotten the same. I'm very VERY happy for that little victory at Dutchess!

I've been busily buying up online Christmas gifts for my family today - I'm a bit of a last-minute person, I realize...lots of gift certificates and carbon credits this year...and then on to dealing with lists. ugh. lists.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!