Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2007-12-19 - 7:48 p.m.

...the beauteous sound of data...

I went into work this morning and felt exhausted from the trip. I got down to my office and one of the secretaries looked at me and said, "My god you look so uncomfortable." I just looked at her and laughed. I might have also said, "you got it."

Everyone there was being exceedingly helpful - let us know if you need anything, which was super.

And then I went over to the lab and faced the new machine. I had been avoiding this moment, because I knew already how much I had forgotten. And then I started a run. And had to stop it because I had forgotten something. And then I lost four samples. And then, and then, and then - it worked. I got data! Beauteous data!

Wow.

I'm psyched. I want to go back in and get some MORE data! err, but I probably won't. As the technician said...maybe wait and see how you feel tomorrow.

But I already know what's happening tomorrow. Tomorrow, K and I are taking a vacation away from the house while the carpets are flooded with water and chemicals. I've made a reservation for lunch at the botanical gardens, and we plan to do some shopping about town. We don't particularly have anything to buy...but hey, what a nice date we're planning.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!