Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2008-01-04 - 6:50 p.m.

...friday evening..time to relax a little...

Today was officially my last day of work before maternity leave.

Of course, Mountain U. has arranged it so that, in order for me to process the paperwork and get paid by the gov't, I have to commute into work to pick up the paperwork from them directly. Sigh. I guess that university administrations don't really THINK about the fact that I'm freakin' ten months pregnant and that it might just be a hassle for me to deal with a 2-hr commute on two buses and a train in this state. Or, it is possible that a woman MIGHT JUST BE the sole breadwinner of the family, and yes, therefore I really DO need to have this paperwork ready in a timely fashion so that I get paid and have rent money!

small rant there.

In deference to my exploding ankles, I've been lying in bed today, but I've beauteously made it through another 50-60 of the email backlog. I wrote two letters of recommendation for students, assembled a mailing list, and put together a conference mailing. Plus I dealt with 50-60 emails. I am a goddess. (well, okay, the truth is that my brain can only really handle the easy stuff - which is the brainless administration. So if that's all it can handle then I might as well jump on the brainless admin bandwagon.)

Hey wow. I don't HAVE to go to work on Monday. I can lie in bed. Well, okay, I'm an academic - I know how all this is going to go.

Question for the Canadians out there. Is there a No-Call List in Canada? K and I are pretty sick of being bugged by telemarketers out the wazoo. It's freakin' irritating. My line was blissfully quiet in New York because I eliminated myself from the lists. Is there any way to get these annoying computers and telemarketer people to stop calling me???

ahhh...and now instead of a telemarketer I am listening to Bobby McFarin and Yo Yo Ma playing a wholesome and relaxing duet. Music for the soul......

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!