Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2008-03-27 - 12:03 p.m.

...the yoga club...

I had lunch with the yoga crowd yesterday - four yoga-goers who are now new mothers. We all brought the offspring and had a great time chatting. This group turned out to be such a practical one, I love meeting with them.

I find it interesting because I always identified myself with the single women's crowd. And here I lucked into a group of women who are basically like me. We are all over 35, career types, and new mothers - and stuck on the All-Baby-All-The-Time channel.

One wonderful thing about this crowd is that there is no judgment. Each of us approaches parenting in a different way, and accept that there is no 'right' way. I enjoy asking them about their choices. We are all rather practical people, and fairly upbeat. We all groan over the 'breastfeeding nazis' and scoff at the all-natural- if-you-don't-use-this-sling- or-raise-your-child-this-way- you-are-damaging-your-child- for-life mentality.

And in fact, none of us ever thought that we would make a phone call asking, "do you have Dr. Brown's nipples?" (and weirder still, have the person on the other end of the line UNDERSTAND the question.)

At the same, I think I heard every single one of them say that at the end of the day, they want nothing more to hand off the little creature so that they can do something else. Even if it is just to do the dishes or fold the laundry. (I myself crave Email, d-land, and articles). Everyone knows that babies aren't always cute docile lovely creatures. But it's affirming to be around other people who freely state that they get sick of it, too. I noticed that they were less free with sharing their babysitting contacts...

K and I are off to meet Micha today. Her baby was born several weeks prematurely, and so she's been through the neonatal ringer. On top of that, her stitches blew out (OUCH), which has hindered her mobility incredibly. So we are off to gab and hold her baby so that she can shower and eat. Or just talk about whatever.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!