Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2008-04-15 - 9:37 a.m.

...work work work...

Well, it happened. The book chapter deadline has come and gone, and I haven't even begun to look at it. Sigh. I wrote to the editor to explain the situation, and we'll see what she says. I've hired the nanny for May through August, so assuming that it works out during the trial run, that should give me a few days per week to focus. Mary sounds like a very competent, sweet, and intelligent young woman (who likes to play with babies), and so I feel like I'll be leaving Susi in good hands.

I'm heading up to Mountain University today to go to a research meeting, and so I am starting to think about work again. (Err, did I ever stop?). K and Susi will come up with me to help set my office computing back up.

I had drinks with a colleague who was visiting Vancouver last night. It was very useful to talk with him. We are working on the same kind of stuff, and he is always very positive and optimistic about things. He was encouraging me to take the time to focus on Susi, and not to stress. You know what? I know this. I do. But I also know that I will feel better if I just take SOME time away. Still, it is useful to hear. I know - this topic gets boring after a while.

The weather is definitely Spring - a little chilly, and slightly grey - but it still smells of Spring and I'm certain the sun will make an appearance!

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!