Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2008-05-10 - 9:28 a.m.

...overview...

It's the end of a very full week.

NANNIES AND COMING BACK TO WORK

This was Mary's first full week as Susi's nanny, and on the whole we are exceedingly happy with her. I am still going to emphasize the need for Susi to have two naps that are more than 60 minutes long. But Mary is very eager to do what we want, and she is extremely good at communicating how the day went. I've gotten a huge list of things accomplished at work, but the to-do list is still amazingly long - mostly because I promised to write a book chapter for a grad student textbook on global change, and I'm still struggling to finish it one month past the deadline.
I guess I can start on it once I get through the backlog of admin. Whine. Moan. Complain.


OUT OF THE BLUE AND VERY COOL

I was walking to work and I saw a really cool poster advertising something called Pangaea Day. Pangaea is the geologic name for the supercontinent that existed in the Paleozoic period, some 250 million years ago. The organizers of pangaea day are using the name to invoke a sense of global community. What a very cool reference that warms the cockles of this geologist's heart. What also made me smile was seeing the sign and realizing that I was back out in the world, seeing new things, and silently commenting on them to myself once again.

PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION

This week I realized that I now link public transportation with being pregnant, and it's made me nostalgic, just as my friends said that it would. I remember a year ago, how the unbearable stench of the pizza submarine sandwich that was pumped into the skytrain station made me want to heave. It's taking me a while to realize that I'm not entitled to the cool front seats anymore. When I walk, I sometimes discover my hand resting on my stomach. It's true. I only vaguely remember how hellish those first twelve weeks were. I remember more the turning point, after which I embraced the idea and felt healthy and happy. I want to keep ahold of that happy and healthy feeling. One step was hiring Mary, and a second was starting yoga with Susi. Now I need to find an exercise course/plan just for me, and I think that I will be another step closer to feeling my best. All these thoughts, just from sitting on the skytrain.

TODAY'S EXCITEMENT - BABYWISE

There are lots of baby manuals out there - trouble is, babies don't read them and therefore don't know how they are supposed to behave. Well, I happened onto one book that has really helped me and K - one that I think has prompted Susi to sleep ten hours at night. The book was recommended to me, and I've recommended it to several other friends. This morning, I heard from one of those friends who was extremely excited and thanked us profusely for introducing the book to him. They started using the book this week and within two days their daughter has also become an excellent sleeper. They were SO excited. And so were we.

APPLIANCES

Our landlords just happened onto a good deal for new kitchen appliances, which means that they have spent the last few days showing our old appliances to potential buyers as well as hauling up the new ones. I had unplanned meetings at work, so K got suckered into helping. Poor guy - after scrubbing down all of the old appliances, he helped haul a 100 kilo fridge down a flight of stairs and brought another 100 kilo back up the stairs. As he put it, he engaged in a half a day of grueling manual labor essentially for free. hmph. It would be better if all of the appliances were now working. We are waiting for the new dishwasher and microwave to be hooked up. Whine. Moan. Complain.

Alas, on with the day...

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!