Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2008-06-17 - 2:24 p.m.

...the place to be: World Cup 08....

Tuesdays are one of my baby-free days, and so today I scuttled off to a coffee shop to work on my paper. It went well for all of fifteen minutes when... GREAT HORNY TOADS! THE TV IS ON AND IT IS BLASTING THIS LOUD!!!!! NO, WAIT!! THERE ARE !!!!TWO!!!! TVS BLASTING DIFFERENT THINGS AT THE SAME TIME!!! AHHHH!

Sigh. It's World Cup time again, and today happened to be a day of the exciting Italy-France, Netherland-Romania games. You can forget peace and quiet in ANY establishment on the Drive. And at our favorite coffee shop, Nick the barista pulled a chair up right next to me to cheer for Italy...so I resigned myself to brainlessly updating references.

I could complain, but in the end, I SO love living on a street where everything STOPS for the World Cup. Men and women out in full force to celebrate the games, dressed mostly in Italian and Dutch paraphernalia. The horns are still honking, and the Italian flags are flying. Mary has just suggested that we paint Susi's face for the celebration....(she was kidding...)

My landlady called these fans "the hooligans" when it happened two years ago. I still wonder if she was serious or sarcastic. If these are hooligans, they are the tame, safe North American species of hooligan.

So I've come home, and I will continue to work from here for another two hours if possible. I still feel drained of energy. But as I sit here and watch Susi drink down her second 6-ounce bottle of fluid of the day, I wonder if I haven't just identified my source of fatigue. Anyway, it's back to work...

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!