Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2008-08-16 - 10:17 p.m.

...the disturbing truth about rice...

You may recall a few days ago that I ranted about brown rice cereal - and the exorbitant price thereof... And then I smugly described my plan to grind up my own rice to save myself the pain of a 500% markup.

Well, I did it. And I served it up to Susi. Who then made a godawful face and, for the first time in her life, spit out food. huh.

I thought maybe she was just being difficult because the poor thing had just had her next set of vaccinations and it was approaching 32degC outside (two very good reasons to be cranky if you ask me.) But then I tried the cereal.

GROSS.

I realized that Susi was just a wee bit irritated because I had served her up raw crunchy bits of rice powder.

D'OH.

What a maroon.

So here I am stuck with a gallon bag full of ground up rice....

So then I went online and looked up recipes for baby rice cereal, all of which, not surprisingly, suggest that you actually COOK the rice before serving it to your child. ahem. I repeat. What a maroon.

So then I got a pot and some water and cooked me up some yummy rice gruel. I bowled it and whisked it constantly on the stove until the crunch had dissipated. And then I poured it into little cubes and stuck it in the freezer. And then after it was frozen solid, I stood cursing over the little ice cube tray trying to remove the frozen glutinous masses from each compartment.

Hours later, I think I've come around to thinking that perhaps my time was worth the $4.50 that I paid for the damned box of rice cereal....

What a maroon.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!