Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2008-09-03 - 12:10 p.m.

...aftermath in the first day back...

I just got a series of spam emails that started with the phrase:

"Relax. Take a deep breath."

And then it went on with typical spam email b*&&sH*t.

But whatever. Reading the first part actually worked there for a second and it felt good.

Wonder what it means when you start to get your life cues from spam.

...it's amazing how much you can get done under time pressure. I just slammed out an abstract in one hour. Now I'm taking a break to feed myself and then move on to the next project, which is to finish more lectures.

Nanny has taken Susi out for a walk. K and I are a little less sure about this nanny - she seems to be taking her out for walks...to meet up with her boyfriend for coffee. She seems a little bit slow to pick up the routines, and she hasn't caught on that when I sit at my desk, to me it's the same thing as my being in a room with the door closed.

At the same time, during the first week, this really is an issue of our getting our expectations straight. I guess I just miss Mary, who was perfect. Nanny is still good, and admittedly we are asking her to do many more things, and Susi is more work now. AND, I'm under a bit more stress. So it will all work out once we get through the first patch.

"Relax. Take a Deep Breath. We have what you need."

First day of lectures went very well for a class of 200 students. I went into lecturer/stand-up comic behavior, just as I normally do. Students participated. It seemed to go well. I'm still woefully behind, particularly in the reading. One lecture at a time, boys and girls.

But at least the textbook is good - and actually kind of interesting to read on the skytrain. Wholly unlike other textbooks that make your face fall asleep.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!