Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2008-09-15 - 9:26 p.m.

...a different world...

Sometimes I'm hit smack in the face with someone else's reality. I felt a powerful WHACK upside my head a few minutes ago with this response to our advertisement:

"hi im a 24 year old nanny a canadian citezen looking for work. i have lots of years 9 on taking care of kids of all ages and good references too. im interested in your add here is my resume if you like pls let me know. Iam loking for full tiem and i read that by oct you can add more days how many hours a day and how mcuh you pay thank you hope to hear from you."

and then there was this response:

"IM willing to work Im also Live near to that station.....pls call me at 778XXXXXXX so we can talk personally.."

A similar response came from a correspondent named "Phat Latina."

This is three out of the five responses we've had. I am not by any means making fun of these people. It's more of a reality check. I'm still sometimes shocked to realize how sheltered and privileged my life is. It further shocks me when I put an email like this into the context of the people around me in my neighborhood - the guy who carves wood animals and sleeps up on the corner under the lamp post by the bus stop - does he write like this? I'm pretty sure he's not concerned with grammar.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!