Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2008-10-24 - 9:25 a.m.

...fevers...

Susi had a tough day yesterday and a very rough night last night. When she woke this morning she had a fever of nearly 103F (it was 39.4, for the metric types). I've been able to get it down with acetaminophen for now, but we'll be the first in line at the doctor's office today. I don't think that this is any lasting problem - probably a secondary infection following her latest cold. But she was wheezing through the night, and definitely not herself this morning. She just lay in my arms and on my chest, making a small little whimpering sound, without moving. A far cry from the bubbly bouncy girl who cannot sit still in the morning.

As I said, the acetaminophen has been working - by about 9:20 this morning, she was bouncing a little, smiling a lot, with occasional crawls back to Mama for some comfort cuddles. I just waltzed her around the room in my arms, singing along to "Irene Goodnight," and she went into her crib without protest. But now I hear her upstairs with that horrible cough in her chest. Yes, the doc opens in 30 minutes.

I was thinking that it's too bad that this has to happen when the grandparents are visiting, the nanny is sick (again), and K is away. But then I guess it's kind of too bad that this has to happen at all, yes? Poor thing.

I don't think that we'll be going swimming tomorrow...

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!