Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2008-10-31 - 4:37 p.m.

...halloweenies....

That would be US. Yes, we are the Halloweenies. Party poopers. Slugs.

If there were such a thing as a grinch or scrooge of Halloween, he would be found in this household. K did not grow up with Halloween, and I'm just not feeling like being bothered.

Our landlords, on the other hand, are planning on seeing 200 kids through their doors, and therefore have declared that we need to bring them appropriate amounts of candy so that we can "share" the burden. I think that K and I just don't like being pushed into these things. It's irritating. Not to mention the fact that both Susi and I are sick. AND our landlords owe us $35.

It seems that every time K buys something for the house, they conveniently forget to pay us back. But when it comes to something as ridiculous as Halloween candy, our landlady cannot just buy the friggin candy - we have to get into this micromanagement about how to divvy up the candy.

K even wrote an email and told them that we probably wouldn't make it today - and that if she buys stuff for us, we'll deal with it later. She replied by not understanding the concept, and telling us how much candy we needed to go out and buy.

Yes, I'm a Halloweenie. HARRUMPH.

But you know what? I think that I should be ALLOWED to take Halloween off. At least in the last few years before the little one actually cares about this stuff. It is my right. I have a GOD GIVEN RIGHT TO IGNORE A COMMERCIALIZED HOLIDAY THAT ROTS CHILDREN'S TEETH I TELL YOU!!!!

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!