Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2008-11-29 - 1:50 p.m.

...Funny thing happened on the way from the skytrain...

The following is an actual conversation I had while leaving the Skytrain station yesterday afternoon.

I saw the gentleman whom I see quite frequently at the Mountain U Skytrain stop yesterday. We smiled at each other. He still looks familiar to me - whitish hair, medium height and build, closely trimmed mustache and beard, a dark blue fleece vest, blue eyes, and a smile - always a smile - for teranika. I always smile back (and then scour my mind for where I know him).

Yesterday we said hello again, and I finally asked him, "Should I know you from somewhere? You look so familiar to me."

He answered, "Do you have a hot tub?"

I paused. "err, beg your pardon?"

"Do you have a hot tub??" He asked again.

I answered, slightly taken aback.."Err, NO."

He replies, "Oh, then we probably don't know each other. I sell hot tubs in the store around the corner."

I wonder if he likes to do this to strangers on purpose.

****

Came back early from swimming today because, err, well, another baby threw up in the pool, and it (and we) had to be evacuated. That falls under the "eww" category. But at least Susi had a few fun-filled moments chasing a big rubber floating ball around the pool before the eruption occurred.

We came home, and I proceeded with the Turkey Carcass Soup (such an attractive name), and continued to clean the kitchen...getting grumpier and grumpier. Cleaning up after Thanksgiving is always a bit hellish. Still is. The soup is still simmering on the stove, but I'm too sick of the whole concept of turkey to eat any of it.

So now I am upstairs on the other side of the room from Suzi, who is taking her afternoon nap. I'm using the time to chill out with a book (that is, as soon as I finish this entry). Ahh, how lovely to relax.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!