Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2008-12-30 - 1:04 p.m.

...wintry funcouver...

I walked out to meet with a colleague yesterday in a blinding wind/rain/snow combination. Lovely.

What is it with Vancouver streets and plowing? Actually I know the answer to that question: neither the streets NOR the sidewalks are cleared. EVER. The city just waits for the WEATHER GOD to do it. Well, just like all Vancouver city workers, sometimes the WEATHER GOD decides to go on strike. This means that the streets are an icy frozen slushy MESS, and they have remained this way for about 10 days. It's pretty astounding. Anyone from the east would laugh if they saw how crippled we are.

K just took Susi out and down the hill check out the situation, and to see if we will make it out in the car today. (K is aching to go to IKEA). He's returned with an assessment of "NO FREAKIN' WAY."

I'm hungry. again.

The comedy of landlord Christmas cheer continues. Last year, our landlady gave us six biscotti (that's three each) and a Christmas card. Oh, and a plastic educational toy for the then-unborn child. Oh yes, and two weeks of a wet shampooed carpet when I was 9 months pregnant. This year's present: four biscotti and an already opened (and half-sampled) bag of pfefferkuchen. And a Christmas card that says, "The biscotti are chocolate ginger, so I guess Teranika will have to eat the them all." I tried one of the homemade biscotti. I'm sorry to say it. dog food. She means well. I really do think she means well.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!