Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2004-10-27 - 9:51 a.m.

how do you do it right?

My student came by to talk to me more today and she looks emotionally better than she sounded on the weekend. She was a lawyer in her previous life when the cancer struck the first time, and she was unable to keep up her insane hours --> thus her decision to become an earth science teacher. Her problem now is the same as many Americans: no health care. Her family consists of a supportive boyfriend. And, as I suspected, she wants to stick to her normal schedule as much as possible. Understandable. But more than anything I let her know that we could be flexible.

Of course, at the same time that this was happening, I was processing my teaching evaluations from last semester. Ouch. Many evaluations were very good - in fact, the undergraduates were uniformly positive. Some of the graduate-level high school teachers were harsh. Some provided concrete usable suggestions about how to improve. Some were just unpleasant.

An example: "What did you enjoy most about this course?"

"Leaving."

What a wit. Yes, it's funny, but how does this help improve for the next bunch?

Not everyone will like you. But I was amazed to read in three cases that I didn't "respect" the students, or that I was not available to answer questions. Given that there were no concrete examples of my disrespect, I don't quite know how to modify my style. Given that I answered all emails, offered review sessions (which other profs in my department do NOT do), and met with students on weekends, I am not sure how I could have been more available. It is difficult to invest so much in helping students, and then be accused of NOT doing it.

I am sure that I will put this all into perspective in a few days.

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!