Get your own
  diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Favorite Reading:

awittykitty
hungryghost
saudades
ladyloo
coldandgray
dandlioneyes
drgeek
elgan
essaywriter
toastcrumbs
stepfordtart
science-girl
smartypants
marn
reader1209
harri3tspy
heelandlass
alicewonders
andnowwhat
http://kathyesq
blighty
artgnome

2004-12-03 - 11:04 p.m.

yes, this defines me as an old fogey.

Does anyone else cringe at the sight of non-words such as "cuz" or "ur," instead of "because" and "you're"??

I feel horribly old-fashioned...and yet these dreadful shorthands are increasingly prevalent on my students' exams, and in their emails to me.

I can't bring myself to use them. More importantly, I don't find them appropriate in an email to a professor. And I certainly don't find them appropriate in an exam.

And that brings me to my next question. Should a science teacher care about grammar and spelling? I think the answer is unequivocally yes. And yet, what does one do when faced with students cannot write their way out of a box? I mentioned to a student that he has a problem with spelling. He didn't seem remotely concerned by this.

On the one hand, I am pleased with modern texting and email, because it forces students to write words instead of merely speaking them. I have a theory that this may create a generation of people who are less afraid of their words.

My latest technique with undergraduate and graduate students with writer's block is to give them a series of questions. I then ask them to send me an email in which they discuss the answers to the questions with me. My theory is that this will force them to approach writing as a conversation instead of a brilliant discourse that is perfect the first time the words are laid on the page.

My concern now is that informal messaging is going to create essays of incomplete sentences full of "ur" and "cuz." ***cringe***

leave a note

...they are just words, Suzi... - 2011-08-29
...the nature of doing science... - 2011-07-22
....what is your place knowledge? - 2011-07-21
...it's Friday... - 2011-07-15
...a small ripple on the big wave... - 2011-02-04

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!